December 23, 2016

AIA Fort Lauderdale 2017 Design Awards

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 6.48.37 AMThe 2017 Design Awards Program recognizes excellence in design by the architectural profession and is presented by AIA Fort Lauderdale, a Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. These Awards are intended to promote public consciousness of the built environment through distinguished works of architecture by our local membership.

The submittals are open to built or unbuilt architectural projects of all types and sizes, and can be submitted by individuals or firms that are members of our local chapter or AIAS in a Broward County university or college and practices in Broward County. All designs must have been produced within the past six years.

The awards are juried by a panel of non-competing, award-winning, architects who are not members of AIA Fort Lauderdale and have not served as design awards jurors for at least the past 6 years. Multiple Honor and Merit Awards may be awarded in each category as entries are solely and individually weighted on their value of design excellence and technical rigor. However, only one project will be awarded the top award. This year’s jury includes: Donald Yoshino, FAIA (chair), Vicki Soderland, AIA, and Mikael Kaul, AIA.

Winners will be announced at The Design Awards dinner to be held at the Hyatt Regency Pier 66 on October 5th at 6pm.


Entry Fees:

  • AIA Member – $100.00 for the first submittal and $50 for each additional submittal
  • Non – Member – $250.00 per submittal
    All entry fees are non-refundable


Entry Fees:

  • $50.00 (Entry fee includes one free admission to design awards reception.)
    All entry fees are non-refundable


Registration and fees are due by 5:00 p.m. on August 24, 2017. Click here to download the entry form.


All entries must be completed within the PowerPoint template provided. Entries shall be submitted using the provided template and delivered to the chapter via email provided on registration by the required deadline. Maximum file size must not exceed 10 MB. Also required for all categories is a 30”x42” poster of project to be used in exhibition the evening of Gala. The poster is required component of this year’s submission process as it is used in the People’s Choice Award judging. All posters will be displayed within a public exhibition at a later date and venue to be determined. The public exhibition is intended to celebrate the work of Broward County Architects. The 2017 Design Awards logo will be sent to you upon registration and is to be included on the poster and within the PowerPoint. They are also available on the chapter website, design award page.

NEW this year, all entries will include a 30 x 40” poster board. This poster will be displayed and serve as the criteria for judging the Peoples Choice Award at the Design Awards Gala on October 5th, 2017. Furthermore all posters will be exhibited at several events over the next year as a celebration of Broward architecture and architects.  The board is due on Sept. 22ndDownload the flyer for all specifications.

Download the AIA Fort Lauderdale logos to use in your entry submittal:

AIA Fort Lauderdale Logo (CMYK Version)
AIA Fort Lauderdale Logo (PMS Version)
AIA Fort Lauderdale Logo (Black Version – Coming Soon)


  • Thursday, August 24, 2017 – Deadline for receipt of application and fees
  • Thursday, August 31, 2017 – Deadline for receipt of entries – 5:00pm.
  • Friday, September 8, 2017 – Awards Jury Convenes for Deliberations
  • Thursday, October 5, 2017 – Design Awards Gala at the Hyatt Regency Pier 66




Please enter the security code:
security code
Security Code (lowercase letters):

About Rony Channing